Response to Ashley

Getting Lost in Neuromancer


This was supposed to be posted in ashley’s comments, but that pesky spam filter outsmarted me.

Totally agree with you, Ashley.  I have a hard time completely immersing myself into the Neuromancer universe as well, mostly due to questions and conundrums regarding the technology in the novel.  For example, Molly’s glasses/goggles.  When/if ever Molly cries, do they fill up with her tears like goggles in a swimming pool, obscuring her vision and thus defeating their entire purpose?  I find myself continually going off on mental tangents, trying to resolve the thousands of questions that the book poses.  Not that the novel isn’t highly entertaining, I think it just takes a little longer to process the information, something that was sort of unexpected when I began reading it this past week.  I began this course with the presumption that science fictions novels were hardly academic, and have already realized that I was very, very, wrong.

1 comment
  1. edicesar said:

    aaand my question was just answered, about molly’s tears, in the reading for tomorrow.

Leave a comment